Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Populism, authoritarianism and agrarian struggles

16th February 2022 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

16 February 2022

11:00 São Paulo/15:00 Amsterdam/19:30 New Delhi/22:00 Beijing

Register

Around the world emerging new exclusionary politics are generating deepening inequalities, jobless ‘growth’, climate chaos, and social division. These processes have been intensified or exposed in many places by the Covid-19 pandemic and responses to it, but they are not new. Since 2017 the Emancipatory Rural Politics Initiative (ERPI) has used engaged research to better understand these destructive dynamics, and the social and political processes in rural spaces that are generating alternatives to them.

Engaged researchers have published timely collections on these issues: (a) Routledge book ‘Authoritarianism and the Rural World‘ (Open Access ebook); (b) Special Issue of Sociologia Ruralis on authoritarian populism in Europe; (c) Special Issue of Journal of Rural Studies on North America; (d) a special forum of Latin American Perspectives; and e) A View From The Countryside, co-published by TNI, FIAN, and ERPI.

This edition of the Agrarian Conversations Webinar Series will showcase these relevant and urgent publications, discuss recent events, and assess the progress of struggles in and from the rural areas in relation to right-wing populism.
Speakers:

  • Achin Vanaik (TNI, India)
  • Garrett Lovelace-Graddy (American University, USA),
  • Attila Szocs (Ecoruralis & ECVC, Romania)
  • Ayala Ferreira (MST, Amazonas)

Moderators: Ruth Hall (PLAAS) and Katie Sandwell (TNI)

Background reading: Preface of Authoritarian Populism and the Rural World’, pages xv-xxi

Languages: English, Spanish, French

Contact: c.sandwell@tni.org

Register

Details

Date:
16th February 2022
Time:
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm