Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Transformations in and beyond Covid-19 in India and Bangladesh

July 16 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm

11.00 UTC · 12.00 UK · 16.30 India · 17.00 Bangladesh

Video


About this event

flyer
Flyer (PDF)

This event is convened by the TAPESTRY project.

The coronavirus outbreak has disrupted almost all aspects of life in India and Bangladesh. Apart from the immediate impacts on victims of the virus, the lockdowns imposed by governments have affected the mobility, income, food security, and livelihoods of millions.

For people in so-called ‘marginal’ environments, in coastal and dryland areas, Covid-19 adds to a set of existing uncertainties and challenges. Recent weather events such as Cyclone Amphan have compounded the problems faced in some regions. But people in these areas are not passive recipients of unpredictable change. They are responding through alliances, often driven from the grassroots but sometimes in collaboration with other people and agencies.

This webinar explores the implications of the Covid-19 pandemic for bottom-up transformations to sustainability.

For a more detailed description, see the registration page.


Speakers

  • D.Parthasarathy, IIT Bombay / TAPESTRY project
  • Seema Kulkarni, Society for Promoting Participative Ecosystem Management (SOPPECOM) / Transformations to Groundwater Sustainability project
  • Amitava Roy, Lokamata Rani Rashmoni Mission, Sundarbans
  • Saleemul Huq, International Centre for Climate Change and Development (ICCCAD), Bangladesh
  • Sandeep Virmani, Hunnarshala Foundation
  • Shilpi Srivastava, IDS/TAPESTRY
  • Discussant: Mihir Bhatt, All-India Disaster Mitigation Institute / TAPESTRY
  • Chair: Lyla Mehta, Institute of Development Studies / Norwegian University of Life Sciences / TAPESTRY

NATURES: Our theme for 2020

NaturesNature is all around us, but there are many ways of seeing different kinds of ‘natures’, and many efforts to involve it in forms of control or domination.

How is talk of crisis shaping nature and people’s views of it? How can colonial forms of knowledge, technology and power be challenged, and what might it mean to ‘decolonize’ the study of environmental change? What do alternatives look like, and how can we explore, nurture, imagine and live the relationships we might want for the future?

Find out more about our theme for 2020 on our Natures theme page.

Details

Date:
July 16
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Event Tags:
, ,