STEPS Centre - return to home


The STEPS Centre is run by Director Ian Scoones, Co-director Andy Stirling and Deputy Directors Adrian Ely and David Ockwell with STEPS members based at the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) and the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU) at Sussex University in the UK. Our former Director Melissa Leach became Director of IDS in April 2014.

Google Scholar profiles: Click ‘read more’ under each person to find out more about their work and a link to their Google Scholar profile.

We are overseen by an International Advisory Committee of globally renowned academics, policymakers, business and media professionals, chaired by Mike Hulme, Professor of Climate and Culture at King’s College London. Present and past members of the Advisory Committee and the STEPS Centre can be viewed using the menu on the right.

Adrian Ely

Deputy Director and Head of Impact and Engagement

Adrian Smith

Convenor - Grassroots innovation project

Amber Huff

Research Fellow

Andrew Scott

Former Advisory Committee member. Research Fellow ODI.

Banji Oleyaran Oyeyinka

Former Advisory Committee member. United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT)

Brian Wynne

Professor of Science Studies and co-director, CESAGEN, University of Lancaster

Carl Folke

Professor Scientific Director and Theme leader Regime shifts, scales and sources of reorganisation in social-ecological systems, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Christine Drury

Former Advisory Committee member. Former Unilever communications executive

David Ockwell

Deputy Director (Research) and Co-convenor, Energy and Climate Change

Dipak Gyawali

Nepal Academy of Science and Technology

Erik Millstone

Co-convenor - Intensification project

Fiona Marshall

Convenor - Environmental Health project

Fred Pearce

Science writer and journalist

Gerald Bloom

Health and Disease domain convenor

Harriet Dudley

STEPS Centre Manager

Jeremy Allouche

Convenor - Dams project

Jimmy Whitworth

Former Advisory Committee member. Wellcome Trust Head of Population Health

Jim Sumberg

Research Fellow

Jim Watson

Research Fellow

Joachim Voss

Former Advisory Committee Member. Former Director General, International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), Colombia

John Thompson

Food and Agriculture domain convenor

Judi Wakhungu

Former chair, STEPS Advisory Committee. abinet Secretary (Minister) for Environment, Water and Natural Resources of Kenya.

Julia Day

Deputy Director and Head of Communications

Katherine Homewood

Former Advisory Committee member. Professor of Human Ecology, UCL

Linda Waldman

Research Fellow

Louk de la Rive Box

Former Advisory Committee member. Emeritus Professor, International Institute of Social Studies

Lyla Mehta

Water and Sanitation domain convenor

Melissa Leach

Former STEPS Centre Director, current IDS Director

Mike Hulme

Chair of Advisory Committee, Professor of Climate and Culture at King’s College London

Nathan Oxley

Communications and Impact Manager

Parveen Mungroo

Project Administrator

Peter Newell

Research Fellow

Pritpal Randhawa

Senior Researcher

Rob Byrne

Co-convenor - Energy and climate change domain

Rose Cairns

Research Fellow

Sam Geall

Research Fellow

Saurabh Arora

Research Fellow

Sheila Jasanoff

Former Advisory Committee member. Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies at the Harvard Kennedy School.

Shiv Visvanathan

Former Advisory Committee member. Professor at O P Jindal Global University, Sonipat

Sophie Valeix

Doctoral Researcher

Sue Hartley

Director, York Environmental Sustainabilty Institute

Suman Sahai

Convenor, Gene Campaign, Delhi

Sunita Narain

Former AAdvisory Committee member. Director General of the Centre and the director of the Society for Environmental Communications

Suzanne Fisher-Murray

Communications and Engagement Officer

Thomas Lingard

Global External Affairs Director, Unilever

Tony Marjoram

Former Advisory Committee Member. Former Programme Specialist responsible for Engineering, UNESCO