The STEPS Centre is made up of a team of international researchers from a range of countries and academic backgrounds, from the social and the natural sciences. They are supported by a small team of communications and impact and administrative staff.

STEPS Centre members are based at the Institute of Development Studies (IDS), the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU) and the School of Global Studies at the University of Sussex, UK.

Click on each person’s profile for contact details, publications and biographical information.

The STEPS Centre’s Co-directors are Ian Scoones and Andy Stirling.

Google Scholar profiles: Click ‘read more’ under each person to find out more about their work and a link to their Google Scholar profile.

Adrian Ely

Reader in Technology & Sustainability and Director of Training, Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU)

Amber Huff

Research Fellow

Andrea Brock

PhD researcher

Divya Sharma

Researcher - Agrarian Transformations

Dominic Glover

Research Fellow

Jeremy Allouche

Research Fellow

Jeremy Lind

Research Fellow

John Thompson

Research Fellow

Lyla Mehta

Research Fellow

Marina Apgar

Research Fellow, Institute of Development Studies

Naomi Marks

Communications Officer

Nathan Oxley

Communications Manager

Rob Byrne


Sophie Valeix

Doctoral Researcher

Wei Shen

Research Fellow, Institute of Development Studies